Skip to main content

Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (BSEE)


Electrical engineering is a very broad field – it encompasses virtually anything you can think of that requires electric power to operate! As an electrical engineering student at UH, you will get a broad sampling of courses from several areas involving electrical and electronic systems, but in your last two years you will choose from among six specialty areas: electronics; nanotechnology; power and alternative energy; computers and embedded systems; electromagnetics; and signals, systems and communication. Working in these areas involves the analysis and design of systems including antennas, robotics, power distribution, digital signal processing, semiconductor devices and integrated circuits, analog and digital control systems, communication networks and more!

BSEE Degree Program

Taking courses in the BSEE degree program is organized into two phases. The first two years are the ECE Base. The ECE Base provides fundamental skills in math, science, and electrical engineering. In addition, all students take 42 semester hours of core curriculum designed to provide a strong liberal arts education essential in an educated person.

In the last two years of the BSEE degree plan, students must choose one of six Concentration Areas.  The Concentration Area allows the student to choose a subset of Electrical Engineering that is of particular interest to the student, while still encouraging the student to take courses in related areas.

All students in the BSEE program must submit a Degree Plan for Electrical Engineering prior to enrolling in their first Concentration or ECE Elective.  The student will then be assigned a Faculty Advisor in the chosen Concentration Area.  Following the initial advising session with the Faculty Advisor, the student may proceed to enroll in Elective courses.

Please refer to the curriculum flowcharts for further details.